5. Career progression

Once you’ve successfully completed your probationary period (2 years for graduate scheme / 3 years for apprenticeship scheme), you have the opportunity to progress up through the following ranks:

  • Police Constable / Detective Constable
  • Sergeant / Detective Sergeant
  • Inspector / Detective Inspector
  • Chief Inspector / Detective Chief Inspector
  • Superintendent / Detective Superintendent
  • Chief Superintendent / Detective Chief Superintendent
  • Assistant Chief Constable
  • Deputy Chief Constable
  • Chief Constable

As a police constable, you’ll also be able to apply for specialist units like the Criminal Investigation Department (CID), firearms, child protection, cyber crime, roads policing, dog handling and many more...